Butchered at Birth

02BABButchered at Birth is the second studio album by American death metal band Cannibal Corpse. It was released in 1991 through Metal Blade Records. The artwork was censored for a few years (around 1992-1994) – where only the name of the band and title of the album, as well as a circled “censored version” and the notice “special uncensored offer inside” could be read. The background of the censored version was plain white.

The album was banned in Germany due to the violent artwork. The first pressings of the compact disc were wrapped in white butcher paper stamped with the band logo and album title in red ink. Butchered at Birth′s cover also drew a complaint from the Ontario Provincial Police in Canada, which led to stores being told not to sell the album to people younger than 18 years old.

“Rancid Amputation” was given a lounge music rearrangement by Andrew Hansen of the Australian comedy team The Chaser in July 2006 when the band came under controversy due to their lyrical content prior to touring in Australia. Before performing the song, alongside Dominic Knight on upright bass, Hansen told the audience that it’s “the music that’s the problem, not the lyrics”, thus performing the song in a lounge style.

Butchered at Birth was the Cannibal Corpse album to establish their trademark, death metal style, as their first album Eaten Back to Life had more thrash elements to it.

Track listing:

All song lyrics written by Chris Barnes. The music is written by Cannibal Corpse.

1. “Meat Hook Sodomy” 5:46
2. “Gutted” 3:15
3. “Living Dissection” 4:00
4. “Under the Rotted Flesh” 5:04
5. “Covered with Sores” 3:17
6. “Vomit the Soul” 4:30
7. “Butchered at Birth” 2:45
8. “Rancid Amputation” 3:16
9. “Innards Decay” 4:38
10. “Covered with Sores (live)” (2002 remaster bonus track) 3:59


  • Endorsements

  • New Release

  • Latest Updates