Hammer Smashed Face

Hammer Smashed Face is the first EP by Cannibal Corpse, released in 1993 through Metal Blade Records. There are two versions of the release, a single version that features the title song “Hammer Smashed Face” with two covers of songs by Black Sabbath and Possessed, and the EP version which includes the three tracks of the single version along with two original Cannibal Corpse tracks. The single version and the EP version both have different cover artwork.

“Hammer Smashed Face” is one of the band’s most popular songs, mainly due to a shortened version appearing in the film Ace Ventura: Pet Detective. Since it is included on Tomb of the Mutilated, it was banned from Germany until June 2006, when it was played at a 2006 performance at Essen.

When asked if he had a favorite Cannibal Corpse album, singer Chris Barnes described the Hammer Smashed EP as “one of the underrated ones”. Barnes also hailed the group’s cover of Black Sabbath‘s “Zero the Hero” as “one of the greatest”. The song itself is included on Kerrang!’s 25 Extreme Metal Anthems.

Track listing:

EP version
1. “Hammer Smashed Face” 4:04
2. “The Exorcist” (Possessed cover) 4:37
3. “Zero the Hero” (Black Sabbath cover) 6:35
4. “Meat Hook Sodomy” 5:47
5. “Shredded Humans” 5:12
Total length:

Single version
1. “Hammer Smashed Face” 4:04
2. “The Exorcist” (Possessed cover) 4:37
3. “Zero the Hero” (Black Sabbath cover) 6:35
Total length:

An abridged version of the song “Hammer Smashed Face” appeared in the film, Ace Ventura: Pet Detective, while Jim Carrey was present at a death metal concert featuring Cannibal Corpse. Carrey is a fan of the band, and was the one to recommend that they appear in the movie.
The title “Hammer Smashed Face” is referenced frequently, among other Cannibal Corpse titles and lyrics, in the television show Metalocalypse by Nathan Explosion. A one-time character also refers to it, and in the same episode, a character is killed by being smashed in the face with a hammer identical to the one on the cover of the EP.
The song was released as downloadable content for Rock Band.

Produced by Scott Burns (record producer), Dennis Fura and Cannibal Corpse


  • Endorsements

  • New Release

  • Latest Updates